265,000 work inspections planned during anti-black market campaign

dealing with tax spain

The effects of the economic crisis continue to be felt and with as much as 25% of the Spanish economy believed to be outside the purview of the state and an estimated 400,000 illegal workers, the government is planning to get tough with a series of measures designed to impact on the black market.

The new campaign by the Spanish government to combat the black market is to be launched before the summer. Final details are being agreed and will be put to a cabinet meeting sometime during May. Both union groups as well as employers’ organisations are considering the draft proposals ahead of final confirmation by the council of minister’s meeting.

It is already known that among the measures that will be announced include a doubling of fines for hiring workers without the requisite paperwork being in place as well as  automatically preventing those who are working illegally while being registered as unemployed from receiving any further unemployment benefits.

More than 265,000 inspections are to be carried during the course of the campaign and while fines will not increase during an initial four month grace period they will eventually reach anywhere between €6,500 and €400,000. The campaign will be under way by July.

Related Services

15 Lawyers Offering Employment Contracts Services in Spain

Testimonials for our Employment Contracts service
  • Ashley Wilkins
    Ashley Wilkins, Murcia

    We were delighted with the level of responsiveness and service Inma provided. Our daughter has been accepted at UCAM to study Dentistry and consequently we were helping her set up life in Murcia.


    Inma was most helpful in the flat leasing process in the identification of Agents and in the Tenancy Agreement negotiation and execution after a property had been found. This together with her good general advice about how things work in Murcia and Spain have made the process far easier that would otherwise be the case. Inma was also very helpful in the NIE process.


    Bravo and we are delighted to recommend Inma as a first port of call in Murcia !

    Best wishes Ashley.


    Sep 18, 2019
  • Eamonn Gomez
    Eamonn Gomez, Madrid

    Francisco was extremely helpful, he couldn't have done more.


    Sep 07, 2019
  • Monica Chitnis
    Monica Chitnis, Barcelona

    Raffaele went out of his way to make sure I solved all my problems in the most cost-effective way possible. He also takes full responsibility for doing a great job and making sure the client is happy.


    Aug 26, 2019
  • Stefan Cojocaru
    Stefan Cojocaru, Girona

    My lawyer had a very professional and tactful approach to my case and endeavoured in every way to resolve my problem.He's been very polite and patient giving me time to make the right decisions.


    Jul 09, 2019
  • Paul Symes
    Paul Symes, Barcelona

    Very satisfied with the service provided!


    Jun 19, 2019
  • Marion Rouillé
    Marion Rouillé, Barcelona

    He really listened to my story (all the details about the issue I had), he was always clear about his strategy and never sugarcoated the possible outcome.


    I appreciated the fact he was very down-to-earth and presented me with truth about the situation, without trying to give me false hopes.


    Always professional I would totally recommend his service.


    May 10, 2019
  • Emerson D'Abbot-Doyle
    Emerson D'Abbot-Doyle, Fuerteventura

    Cristina’s level of approachability was second to none & was very empathetic of our family situation & was very adaptable to changes in circumstances as they arose.


    Her professionalism throughout was unquestionable & I wouldn’t hesitate in using her again or recommending her to others. Service was perfect in every way.


    Apr 29, 2019
  • Penny Toomey
    Penny Toomey, La Manga

    I could not recommend Consuelo highly enough to choose as a lawyer. She went above and beyond what was required when working for me.


    She is reliable, professional and kept me informed of the progress of my case and what she was doing at all times.


    Consuelo has an ethical outlook and a strong sense of what is right. She was unfazed when others tried to block her efforts to help me and was always reassuring that we would get there.


    Her spoken and written English is excellent so she can work with both English and Spanish (she did for me). Thank you Consuelo!


    Apr 16, 2019
  • Andrea OMahony
    Andrea Omahony, Murcia

    Inma was fabulous. She was extremely professional and she answered any questions efficiently and accurately.


    Apr 01, 2019
  • Colin Johnson
    Colin Johnson, Sevilla

    Very helpful, especially as English and Spanish law has it's differences and my final document - a testament -  required the services of a notary and the final translation.


    A pleasure to meet Rafael and to discuss my needs and he made the whole process straightforward with lots of common sense solutions. ***** 5 stars and highly recommended.


    Mar 15, 2019
  • Keith Naylor
    Keith Naylor, Fuerteventura

    Very satisfied with the service provided. Cristina is bilingual.


    Feb 22, 2019
  • Catherine
    Catherine, Alicante

    Consuelo was extremely helpful, she couldn't have done more. I would definitely recommend her to friends.


    Feb 15, 2019
  • Vivien Yao
    Vivien Yao, UK

    Worked with Rafael for a project. He is very professional, efficient and helpful.

    Thanks Rafael!


    Jan 17, 2019
  • Lloyd
    Lloyd, Seville

    Rafael was always there for me. He catered to my schedule rather than me to his.


    Jan 07, 2019
  • MF
    MF, Lanzarote

    My lawyer Cristina was extremely understanding , friendly and reassuring. With Cristina on my side, it gave me confidence to continue.


    May 21, 2018
  • Kimberly Adams
    Kimberly Adams, USA

    My lawyer Francisco was very helpful. He knew what information I needed to give him to acquire the documents I needed.


    He was very responsive to my status requests and he sent me the documents quickly. I am extremely happy and grateful for his service.


    Nov 09, 2017
  • MW
    MW, Lledo, Spain

    I am very satisfied with the service provided by my lawyer.


    He was extremely helpful and I would definitely use the same lawyer again in the future.


    May 23, 2017
  • Antonina Hales
    Antonina Hales, Zaragoza

    We contacted this law firm on several occasions with different questions (immigration, work contracts, rent of property, purchase of property) and they could always give us a thorough answer to our questions.


    The lawyers provided us all necessary information and helped us to choose the best solution. They were very attentive and helpful. As we don’t speak Spanish, they accompanied us to all government offices.


    Sep 22, 2015
  • CL
    CL, Pennsylvania

    Francisco did a great job of helping us through a process which required his diligence in order to be successful.


    He worked hard on our behalf and we appreciated his determination.


    Jun 25, 2015
  • Osman Bakri
    Osman Bakri, UAE BARQ

    Our lawyer Francisco was very helpful , he didn’t spare any effort in fulfilling his duties which helped us reach our goal.


    We would definitely use his services again.


    Mar 10, 2015
  • Eldina Sator Sahinovic
    Eldina Sator Sahinovic, Sydney

    I am very satisfied with the services provided. The firm was very responsive and dealt with my issue very capably.The legal solutions provided were very suitable and exactly what I was looking for, further the lawyer was very approachable and friendly.


    I would definitely use this lawyer again.


    Nov 17, 2014
  • Eldina Sator Sahinovic
    Eldina Sator Sahinovic, Sydney, Australia

    I am very satisfied with the services provided. The firm was very responsive and dealt with my issue very capably.


    The legal solutions provided were very suitable and exactly what I was looking for, further the lawyer was very approachable and friendly. I would definitely use this lawyer again.


    Nov 17, 2014
  • Oliver Clarke
    Oliver Clarke, Dubai

    Our lawyer was bilingual and extremely helpful – he couldn’t have done more for us.


    We were very satisfied with the service provided and would definitely use this lawyer again in the future.


    Sep 04, 2014
  • Trevor Taylor
    Trevor Taylor, England

    I was put at my ease straight away, never hiring a Spanish lawyer before, I was cautious, but Francisco guided me through the process effortlessly.I thought my case would be tricky and I on my own would never have completed without him. He was a star.


    I have recommended him to some friends of mine who want to sell their business. As for value for money, he was spot on, and very approachable .Full marks from me.


    Aug 22, 2014
Send Your Enquiry
Are there public holidays?

Enquiry sent. Thank you!

Please fix errors